BRL: Independent Booksellers

Indie booksellers innovate to survive the age of Amazon. (2020, January 7). Marketplace. https://www.marketplace.org/2020/01/07/indie-booksellers-innovate-to-survive-the-age-of-amazon/
Our authors share their favourite independent bookshops. (n.d.). Pan Macmillan. Retrieved March 11, 2020, from https://www.panmacmillan.com/blogs/general/authors-favourite-independent-bookshops
Independent bookshops on the rise for the second year running. (2019, January 13). The Independent. https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/books/news/independent-bookshops-rise-2018-data-high-street-uk-a8725646.html
Bookstores become centers of political resistance - Business Insider. (n.d.). Retrieved April 21, 2020, from https://www.businessinsider.com/bookstores-become-centers-of-political-resistance-2017-2?r=US&IR=T
Indie bookshops are bucking high street trends. (2020, January 10). The Big Issue. https://www.bigissue.com/latest/indie-bookshops-are-bucking-high-street-trends/
Trillin, C. (1975, February 10). Three Strand-Hounds. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1975/02/10/three-strand-hounds
Thompson, J. B. (2010). Merchants of Culture. Polity Press.
Tannenbaum, M. (2009). My Years at the Gotham Book Mart with Frances Steloff, Proprietor. Worthy Shorts Inc.
Sullivan, M. (2017). Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore: A Novel. Simon and Schuster.
Scott, A. (2011). 18 bookshops. Sandstone.
Schwartzburg, M. (2013). The Shop: The Greenwich Village Bookshop Door [Exhibition]. The Greenwich Village Bookshop Door: A Portal to Bohemia, 1920-1925. http://norman.hrc.utexas.edu/bookshopdoor/theshop.cfm#1
Sandlin, H. (2020, February 17). Book Smart: Why the independent bookshop is here to stay | Post. Retail Sector. https://www.retailsector.co.uk/51462-book-smart-why-the-independent-bookshop-is-here-to-stay/
ROGERS, W. G. (1965). Wise Men Fish Here. The Story of Frances Steloff and the Gotham Book Mart. New York.
Rice, R. (2012). My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop. Hachette Books.
Raffaelli, R. L. (n.d.). Reinventing Retail: The Novel Resurgence of Independent Bookstores. 29. https://hbswk.hbs.edu/item/reinventing-retail-the-novel-resurgence-of-independent-bookstores
Oldenburg, R. (1999). The Great Good Place: Cafes, Coffee Shops, Bookstores, Bars, Hair Salons, and Other Hangouts at the Heart of a Community (3rd ed.). Marlowe & Company.
O’Brien, G. T. M. (2017). Small and slow is beautiful: well-being, ‘socially connective retail’ and the independent bookshop. Social & Cultural Geography, 18(4), 573–595. https://doi.org/10.1080/14649365.2016.1199814
Miller, L. J. (2006). Reluctant Capitalists: Bookselling and the Culture of Consumption. University of Chicago Press.
McDOWELL, E., & Times, S. to T. N. Y. (1989, July 17). Bookstore Thrives on Independence. The New York Times. http://www.nytimes.com/1989/07/17/business/bookstore-thrives-on-independence.html
Laties, A. (2011). Rebel Bookseller: Why Indie Bookstores Represent Everything You Want to Fight for from Free Speech to Buying Local to Building Communities. Seven Stories Press.
Jenison, M. (1924). The Sunwise Turn: A Human Comedy of Bookselling. Jonathan Cape.
Independant booksellers unite for Indiebound!!!! (2008, June 1). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfv3FQ63T8w&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Hitchings, H. (2016). Browse: The World in Bookshops. Pushkin Press.
Halverson, K. (2016). Shakespeare and Company, Paris: A History of the Rag & Bone Shop of the Heart. D. A. P./Distributed Art Publishers.
Grant, J. (1967). Harold Monro and the Poetry Bookshop. University of California Press.
Gomme, L. (1937). The Little Book-Shop Around the Corner. The Colophon New Series — A Quarterly for Bookmen, II(4), 574–575.
Flood, A. (2020, January 10). ‘People are so happy we exist’: indie bookshops grow despite retail slump. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/books/2020/jan/10/indie-bookshops-grow-high-street-declines
Field, D. (1991). Driff’s Guide to All the Second-hand and Antiquarian Bookshops in Britain 1991-92 (Revised edition edition). Imprint unknown.
Carrión, J. (2016). Bookshops. Hachette UK.
Campbell, J. (2014). The Bookshop Book. Hachette UK.
Bythell, S. (2017). The diary of a bookseller.
Oren Teicher (ABA) on the upswing of independent booksellers. (2012, June 11). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdhUnVUjQeU&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Bounford, J. E. (2016). This Book Is about Heffers: The Bookshop That Is Known All Over the World. Gottahavebooks.